orphanblack:

thefishinthepercolator:

Orphan Black Poster by Me

Proof once again that Orphan Black fan artists are the best fan artists.
More #CloneClub art here.

orphanblack:

thefishinthepercolator:

Orphan Black Poster by Me

Proof once again that Orphan Black fan artists are the best fan artists.

More #CloneClub art here.

"I adore the way fan fiction writers engage with and critique source texts, but manipulating them and breaking their rules. Some of it is straight-up homage, but a lot of [fan fiction] is really aggressive towards the source text. One tends to think of it as written by total fanboys and fangirls as a kind of worshipful act, but a lot of times you’ll read these stories and it’ll be like ‘What if Star Trek had an openly gay character on the bridge?’ And of course the point is that they don’t, and they wouldn’t, because they don’t have the balls, or they are beholden to their advertisers, or whatever. There’s a powerful critique, almost punk-like anger, being expressed there—which I find fascinating and interesting and cool."

Lev Grossman (via mycrofts)

This is a thing that a lot of people don’t understand about fanfiction.  It’s not slavishly worshipful, it’s often critical, and it’s often transformative. 

(via naamahdarling)

horndave:

Books in Wes Anderson movies

unconsumption:

junkculture:

Artist Transforms a Pile of Trash into a Mind-Bending Anamorphic Illusion

French artist Bernard Pras creates artwork using a technique called anamorphosis, a distorted projection or perspective requiring the viewer to use special devices to see the complete artwork.
His latest project on exhibit at Palais Idéal du Facteur Cheval, near Lyon, France is a portrait of Ferdinand Cheval (a French postman who spent thirty-three years of his life building Le Palais idéal in Hauterives), made up of various objects found around the installation site which requires being viewed from a specific vantage point to reconstitute the image.
More here.

chronicintrovert:

hello!! i am giving away 8 proof copies of my debut novel, Solitaire, to people on tumblr, for free!!!!!!!!! it will be signed and i am going to doodle in all of them. just reblog this post to be in with a chance of winning. you don’t even have to follow me if you don’t want to.

here are some pics and the official blurb, and the details + closing date are at the bottom:

image

image

the doodles WILL be crappy because i’ll just draw whatever, but hopefully they’ll look something like this:

image

In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.

I really don’t.

***

  • the closing date for reblogs will be 9am GMT on Friday 11th July (this is a little earlier to the twitter and instagram ones so i don’t get overloaded with work and i know how fast things go viral on tumblr)
  • i’ll deliver to anywhere, as long as the postage is under £10. i’m from the UK if that helps!
  • this is a PROOF COPY of solitaire - it doesn’t have the fluorescent orange spine or embossing and there are a few typos here and there. the official release date for the book is the 31st july in the UK, and it’s being published by HarperCollins!
  • i’m giving one away on instagram - just like it to enter! this is a very special one as the book will be annotated throughout. finishes 18/7
  • also giving one away on Twitter! also finishes 18/7
  • the books will be signed by me and i’m doodling in them. i’m thinking the doodles will be character specific (aka there will be a tori book and a michael book and a becky book and a charlie book etc) but we’ll see.
  • might have a cheeky look at your blog and write you a cute personal message too because i love you

good luck everyone!

Definitely interested, especially after reading more on goodreads: “This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers” :)

bestnatesmithever:

zerostatereflex:

Tangible Media

MIT’s Tangible Media is coming along nicely,

"Almost like a table of living clay, the inFORM is a surface that three-dimensionally changes shape, allowing users to not only interact with digital content in meatspace, but even hold hands with a person hundreds of miles away. And that’s only the beginning."

handjobs of the future

amisi:

Cats cats cats. =^ㅇㅅㅇ^=